Productions

Geschichte im Ersten: Dutschke – Shots from the Right

NDR/RBB für ARD

On April 11, 1968, an assassination attempt is made on Rudi Dutschke in West Berlin. He is regarded as the spokesman and symbolic figure of the student movement. Dutschke survived the shooting, seriously injured, and the assassination triggered the greatest political unrest in the still young Federal Republic. In the docudrama “Dutschke – Shots from the Right,” award-winning authors Cordt Schnibben and Peter Dörfler show how West German society was divided at the time and how this division set in motion a spiral of violence that culminated in the assassination attempt on Dutschke. The death of the student Benno Ohnesorg, who was shot by a policeman during a demonstration on June 2, 1967, marked the turning point.

Until now, Rudi Dutschke was seen as the victim of an egotistical, criminal loner. The authors now provide a new look at the assassination here. The assassin Josef Bachmann sympathized with the neo-Nazi scene in Peine, Lower Saxony, and took part in shooting practice there. He obtained pistols and ammunition from the right-wing radical group’s arms dealer and used them to carry out attacks on the inner-German border.

“Dutschke – Shooting from the Right” documents how the underestimation of right-wing terrorism shaped the work of the police and courts even back then. Based on previously unknown archive material and unevaluated files, the film describes how Bachmann, the assassin, moved in the militant neo-Nazi scene in the period before the attempted murder of Rudi Dutschke.

In addition to contemporary witnesses such as Knut Nevermann, Rainer Langhans, Stefan Aust, Barbara Sichtermann, Peter Wensierski, Thomas Giefer, Gretchen Dutschke and Bahman Nirumand, Rudi Dutschke himself provides the most important description of his person. With numerous original scenes and from diary entries and speeches, the authors vividly distill his view of the events that led to the shooting of him over the course of a year.

Geschichte im Ersten: „Dutschke – Shots from the Right“ is available until February 1st 2021 in the ARD Mediathek.

Peter Dörfler, Cordt Schnibben Peter Dörfler Mathias Schöningh Sebastian Ehrig, Immanuel Hick, Stefan Birnbaum Frank Bubenzer Anna Bauer, Doris Junker Peter Dörfler Ron Glavas Katinka Seidt, Stefan Bomhof Dagmar Rosenbauer NDR/RBB Eric Friedler, Silke Schütze, Rolf Bergmann
» back

Produktionen

Geschichte im Ersten: Dutschke – Schüsse von Rechts

NDR/RBB für ARD

Am 11. April 1968 wird in West-Berlin ein Attentat auf Rudi Dutschke verübt. Er gilt als Wortführer und Symbolfigur der Studentenbewegung. Dutschke überlebt die Schüsse schwerstverletzt, das Attentat löst die größten politischen Unruhen in der noch jungen Bundesrepublik aus. Mit dem Dokudrama „Dutschke – Schüsse von Rechts“ zeigen die preisgekrönten Autoren Cordt Schnibben und Peter Dörfler, wie sich die westdeutsche Gesellschaft damals spaltete und wie diese Spaltung eine Spirale der Gewalt in Gang setzte, die in dem Attentat auf Dutschke mündete. Der Tod des Studenten Benno Ohnesorg, der am 2. Juni 1967 auf einer Demonstration von einem Polizisten erschossen wurde, markierte den Wendepunkt.

Bisher galt Rudi Dutschke als Opfer eines geltungssüchtigen, kriminellen Einzelgängers. Die Autoren liefern hier nun einen neuen Blick auf den Mordanschlag. Der Attentäter Josef Bachmann sympathisierte mit der Neonazi-Szene im niedersächsischen Peine, nahm dort an Schießübungen teil. Beim Waffenhändler der rechtsradikalen Gruppe besorgte er sich Pistolen und Munition und verübte mit ihnen Anschläge auf die innerdeutsche Grenze.

„Dutschke – Schüsse von Rechts“ dokumentiert, wie schon damals die Unterschätzung des Rechtsterrorismus die Arbeit von Polizei und Gerichten prägte. Auf Grundlage von bisher unbekanntem Archivmaterial und nicht ausgewerteten Akten beschreibt der Film, wie der Attentäter Bachmann sich in der Zeit vor dem Mordversuch an Rudi Dutschke in der militanten Neonazi-Szene bewegte.

Neben Zeitzeugen wie Knut Nevermann, Rainer Langhans, Stefan Aust, Barbara Sichtermann, Peter Wensierski, Thomas Giefer, Gretchen Dutschke und Bahman Nirumand, liefert Rudi Dutschke selbst die wichtigste Beschreibung seiner Person. Mit zahlreichen Originalszenen und aus Tagebucheintragungen und Reden destillieren die Autoren eindringlich seine Sicht auf die Ereignisse, die im Laufe eines Jahres zu den Schüssen auf ihn führten.

Geschichte im Ersten: „Dutschke – Schüsse von Rechts“ ist bis 01.02.2021 in der ARD Mediathek abrufbar.

Peter Dörfler, Cordt Schnibben Peter Dörfler Mathias Schöningh Sebastian Ehrig, Immanuel Hick, Stefan Birnbaum Frank Bubenzer Anna Bauer, Doris Junker Peter Dörfler Ron Glavas Katinka Seidt, Stefan Bomhof Dagmar Rosenbauer NDR/RBB Eric Friedler, Silke Schütze, Rolf Bergmann 03.11.2020, 0:05 Uhr, ARD
» zurück