Productions

Terra X – Expeditions

ZDF

Terra X – Expeditions

Great explorers like Alfred Wegener, Johann Ludwig Burckhardt, and Georg Forster profoundly changed our outlook on the known world. Meteorologist and polar explorer Alfred Wegener is seen as the founder of modern climatology. Johann Ludwig Burckhardt traveled the Middle East in the guise of an Arabic merchant, discovering the legendary city of Petra. Georg Forster was among the first German explorers who went on a voyage around the globe, winning world-wide fame with his documentation of the South Seas.
In this three-part documentary, actor Robert Atzorn takes the audience back to the time and world of these great explorers. Tracing back the routes of their daring expeditions, he hopes to find clues of their exploits that can still be found today.

Expedition to the North Pole – Alfred Wegener

In the spring of 1930, Alfred Wegener sets out on his third Greenland expedition, which is supposed to mark the peak of his career. Over the course of one year, he and his staff plan on gathering data from high up in the atmosphere and from deep within the mainland ice – the beginning of modern climatology. But extreme weather conditions, lacking provisions, and faulty equipment turn the expedition into a race against death itself.

Expedition to the desert – Johann Ludwig Burckhardt

In the spring of 1809, a young merchant named Sheikh Ibrahim reaches the Syrian city of Aleppo. It is in fact Johann Ludwig Burckhardt, who is traveling as a british secret agent. Disguised as a Muslim, he intends to explore the river Niger in central Africa – a dangerous undertaking. On his journey, he discovers the long-lost desert city of Petra and the temples of Abu Simbel. Starting out as an agent be becomes a friend and expert of the Islamic-Arabic world.

Expedition in die Südsee – Georg Forster

In 1772, 17 year-old Georg Forster is given the opportunity to accompany James Cook on a great sailing trip around the world. While Cook explores islands and peoples, Forster discovers approximately 400 previously unknown species of animals and plants. He is to become one of the very first ethnologists. Returning home, Forster supports the French Revolution after having strengthened his belief that no-one can be allowed to exploit any people. He is therefore branded as a traitor in Germany and has to go to exile in Paris.

Matthias Unterburg, Gabriele Wengler, Friedrich Klütsch, Tom Ockers, Frank Vorpahl Gabriele Wengler, Sandra Papadopoulos, Friedrich Klütsch, Tom Ockers Hans Jacobi Jörg Kunkel Susanne Stenner Ulrich Lenze Heike Schmidt, Jens Monath Germany, England, South Seas, Jordan, Egypt, Marocco 05.2., 12.02. and 19.02.2012, ZDF ZDF
» back

Produktionen

Terra X – Expeditionen

ZDF

Terra X – Expeditionen

Große Entdecker wie Alfred Wegener, Johann-Ludwig Burckhardt und Georg Forster veränderten unseren Blick auf die bis dahin bekannte Welt. Der Meteorloge und Polarforscher Alfred Wegener gilt als Begründer der heutigen Klimaforschung. Johann-Ludwig Burckhardt bereiste als arabischer Kaufmann verkleidet den Orient und entdeckte die legendäre Stadt Petra. Als einer der ersten deutschen Entdecker begab sich Georg Forster auf abenteuerliche Weltreisen und erlangte mit seiner Dokumentation der Südsee Weltruhm.

In der dreiteiligen Dokumentation führt der Schauspieler Robert Atzorn den Zuschauer in die Zeit und die Welt der drei großen Entdecker. An den Originalschauplätzen ihrer kühnen Expeditionen geht er auf die Suche nach den Spuren, die Wegener, Burckhardt und Forster auch viele Jahre nach ihren Reisen dort hinterlassen haben.

Expedition ins ewige Eis – Alfred Wegener
Im Frühjahr 1930 bricht Alfred Wegener zu seiner dritten Grönlandexpedition auf, sie soll die Krönung seiner Karriere werden. Ein Jahr lang will er mit seinen Mitarbeitern Messdaten aus der Höhe der Atmosphäre und der Tiefe des Inlandeises sammeln – der Beginn der modernen Klimaforschung. Doch das extreme Wetter, fehlende Vorräte und mangelhafte Ausrüstung machen die Forschungsreise zu einem Wettlauf um Leben und Tod.

Expedition in die Wüste – Johann Ludwig Burckhardt
Im Frühjahr 1809 erreicht ein junger Kaufmann namens „Sheikh Ibrahim“ das syrische Aleppo. Tatsächlich handelt es sich dabei um Johann Ludwig Burckhardt, der im Auftrag der Briten als Geheimagent unterwegs ist. Als Muslim verkleidet, will er den Niger in Zentralafrika erkunden – ein gefährliches Unterfangen. Auf seiner Reise entdeckt er die lange verschollene Wüstenstadt Petra und die Felstempel von Abu Simbel. Als Agent aufgebrochen, macht ihn die Expedition in die Wüste zum Freund und Kenner der islamisch-arabischen Welt.

Expedition in die Südsee – Georg Forster
Im Jahr 1772 erhält der 17-jährige Georg Forster die Möglichkeit, James Cook auf einer großen Weltumsegelung zu begleiten. Auf der Reise entdeckt Cook Inseln und Völker, Forster aber rund 400 unbekannte Tier- und Pflanzenarten. Er ist einer der ersten Ethnologen überhaupt. Nach seiner Rückkehr unterstützt Georg Forster die Französische Revolution, weil seine Weltreise ihn darin bestärkt hat, dass niemand das Recht hat, ein Volk auszubeuten. In Deutschland wird er deshalb als Vaterlandsverräter gebrandmarkt und muss ins Exil nach Paris.

Matthias Unterburg, Gabriele Wengler, Friedrich Klütsch, Tom Ockers, Frank Vorpahl Gabriele Wengler, Sandra Papadopoulos, Friedrich Klütsch, Tom Ockers Hans Jacobi Jörg Kunkel Susanne Stenner Ulrich Lenze Heike Schmidt, Jens Monath Deutschland, England, Südsee, Jordanien, Ägypten, Marokko 05.2., 12.02. und 19.02.2012, ZDF ZDF
» zurück