Productions

Der Aufstand

ZDF

A fascinating documentary drama about the 17th June 1953 in East Germany – 50 years after the first national uprising in the former Soviet sphere of control. An elaborate television movie with a star cast of actors and this year’s high point in contemporary history programmes of the ZDF.

With the death of the dictator Stalin as prologue, the 105-minute film shows the background, the progress and the violent suppression of mass protests that threatened to plunge the SED regime into chaos only a few years after the foundation of the GDR.

This film gives a face to the still unknown heroes of the uprising: the construction workers of the Stalin Allee and the other protesters from East Berlin, whose rebellion spread like wildfire.

The authentically reconstructed scenes set in the centres of power in East Berlin and Moscow, in the sheds, factories and on the roads of the GDR are closely intertwined with eyewitness interviews and previously unknown original film footage. They allow a deep insight into an event that was guarded as a state secret and tabooed by the communist regime until its final fall.

Well-informed staff of the governments and secret services in Moscow and East Berlin reveal that the crisis was close to a global political escalation. Egon Bahr, Klaus Bölling and other former employees of the American radio station RIAS report how surprised the West was by the events and that they were fearing the cold war could turn hot.

“Der Aufstand” reveals the dramatic interplay between the revolutionary enthusiasm and courage of the insurgents and the stability of the cold war based on state-division and graveyard peace: beginning as a spontaneous workers’ protest with economic demands, but turning literally overnight into a political uprising for freedom and the overthrow of the SED dictatorship.

Guido Knopp, head of the ZDF’s Contemporary History division, states: “The essential difference to the revolution of 1989 was that in June ’53 the Soviet tanks rolled in, whereas they remained in their barracks in the fall of ’89. But for a moment the people had forced the regime to the brink of a final defeat. That gives a certain importance to the 17th of June in the brief history of German national uprisings.”

Hans-Christoph Blumenberg, Author and Director: “For me, the 17th of June used to be a date whose importance was mainly dictated by external and subsequent interpretation: very pleasant for us in the West, honouring it with one more bank holiday, nonetheless an ideological reflex. It was only during the preparation of the film that I really understood the true dimension of the events. And now I admire not only the performance of my actors, but even more so that of the people they portray, the East Berlin workers.”

 

Hans-Christoph Blumenberg Hans-Christoph Blumenberg Christian Girardet Florentine Bruck Erik Rüffler Nikolaus Glowna, Siggi Mueller Simone Bär Gudrun Schretzmeier Werner Langheld Sabine Schumann, Bernd Heinemann, Jens Bartram Thomas Dittmar Thomas Schwetje, Jörg Kunkel (Dokumentation) Andreas Knoblauch Jean-Christoph Caron Dr. Stefan Wolle Guido Knopp Ulrich Lenze Jürgen Vogel, Jan Josef Liefers, Stefanie Stappenbeck, Uwe Bohm, Gabriela Maria Schmeide, Heikko Deutschmann, Christian Redl, Florian Martens, Gojko Mitic, Florian Lukas Günter Junghans, Herbert Knaup, Dieter Mann, Dieter Wien, Michael Kind, Karl Kranzkowski, Werner Wölbern, Horst-Günter Marx, Robert Glatzeder u.a. ZDF/ARTE 03.06.03 um 20.15 Uhr, ZDF
» back

Produktionen

Der Aufstand

ZDF

Ein fesselndes Dokudrama über den 17. Juni 1953 in der DDR – 50 Jahre nach dem ersten Volksaufstand im ehemaligen sowjetischen Machtbereich. Ein aufwändiger Fernsehfilm mit einem Staraufgebot an Schauspielern und diesjähriger Höhepunkt im zeitgeschichtlichen Programm des ZDF.

Mit dem Tod des Diktators Stalin als Prolog schildert der 105 Minuten lange Film die Hintergründe, den Verlauf und die gewaltsame Niederschlagung des Massenprotestes, der schon wenige Jahre nach der Gründung der DDR das SED-Regime zu stürzen drohte.

Durch diesen Film erhalten die bis heute unbekannten Helden des Aufstandes ein Gesicht: die Bauarbeiter von der Stalinallee und die anderen Streikenden, die von Ostberlin aus einen die ganze DDR erfassenden Flächenbrand der Rebellion entfachten.

Die bis ins Detail authentisch rekonstruierten Spielszenen in den Machtzentralen Ost-Berlins und Moskaus, in den Bauhütten, Fabriken und auf den Straßen der DDR sind eng verzahnt mit Zeitzeugeninterviews, bislang unbekannten originalen Filmaufnahmen und erlauben tiefe Einblicke in ein Geschehen, das das SED-Regime bis zu seinem endgültigen Sturz als ebenso peinliches wie streng gehütetes Staatsgeheimnis tabuisierte.

Engste Mitarbeiter der Regierungen und Geheimdienste in Moskau und in Ost-Berlin enthüllen, dass die Krise kurz vor der weltpolitischen Eskalation stand. Egon Bahr, Klaus Bölling und andere damalige Mitarbeiter des amerikanischen Rundfunksenders RIAS berichten gleichzeitig, wie sehr auch der Westen von den Ereignissen überrascht und von der Furcht beschlichen wurde, diese könnten den kalten in einen heißen Krieg verwandeln.

„Der Aufstand“ offenbart das dramatische Wechselspiel zwischen dem revolutionären Elan und Mut der Aufständischen und der auf staatlicher Teilung und Friedhofsruhe basierenden Stabilität des Kalten Krieges: am Anfang ein spontaner Arbeiterprotest mit ökonomischen Forderungen, aber buchstäblich über Nacht fast ebenso unwillkürlich ein politischer Volksaufstand für Freiheit und den Sturz der SED-Diktatur.

Guido Knopp, Chef der ZDF-Zeitgeschichte:
„Der wesentliche Unterschied zur Revolution von 1989 war der, dass im Juni ’53 die sowjetischen Panzer ausrückten und sie im Herbst ’89 in den Kasernen blieben. Aber für einen Moment lang hatte das Volk das Regime an den Rand einer endgültigen Niederlage gedrängt. Das macht in der an Volkserhebungen nicht gerade reichen deutschen Geschichte die bleibende Bedeutung des 17. Juni aus.“

Hans-Christoph Blumenberg, Autor und Regisseur:
„Der 17. Juni war für mich früher ein Datum, dessen Bedeutung im Wesentlichen von außen und nachträglich hineininterpretiert wurde: ganz angenehm für uns im Westen, weil uns das einen Feiertag mehr bescherte, nichtsdestotrotz ein ideologischer Reflex. Erst im Laufe der Vorbereitung des Films habe ich die wirkliche Dimension der Ereignisse begriffen. Und jetzt bewundere ich nicht nur die Leistung meiner Schauspieler, sondern fast mehr noch die ihrer historischen Vorbilder, der Ostberliner Arbeiter.“

 

Mit Unterstützung der FilmFörderung Hamburg GmbH

 

 

Hans-Christoph Blumenberg Hans-Christoph Blumenberg Christian Girardet Florentine Bruck Erik Rüffler Nikolaus Glowna, Siggi Mueller Simone Bär Gudrun Schretzmeier Werner Langheld Sabine Schumann, Bernd Heinemann, Jens Bartram Thomas Dittmar Thomas Schwetje, Jörg Kunkel (Dokumentation) Andreas Knoblauch Jean-Christoph Caron Dr. Stefan Wolle Guido Knopp Ulrich Lenze Jürgen Vogel, Jan Josef Liefers, Stefanie Stappenbeck, Uwe Bohm, Gabriela Maria Schmeide, Heikko Deutschmann, Christian Redl, Florian Martens, Gojko Mitic, Florian Lukas Günter Junghans, Herbert Knaup, Dieter Mann, Dieter Wien, Michael Kind, Karl Kranzkowski, Werner Wölbern, Horst-Günter Marx, Robert Glatzeder u.a. ZDF/ARTE 03.06.03 um 20.15 Uhr, ZDF
» zurück